Exam Overload

Exam season is just around the corner and although I’m at uni and luckily don’t have any exams this year (the whole reason why I picked my course – I’m a coursework lover) I know how stressful it can be and thought I would pass on some exam tips for coping sensory-wise in exam conditions.

  1. RESCUE REMEDY! I totally swear by this stuff – you can get it in pastille and liquid form and its super soothing and calming. Its essentially a flower remedy that you suck or drop on your tongue and its kinda magic I think. Read about it here: http://www.bachflower.com/rescue-remedy-information/ and you can buy it from all decent pharmacies 😉
  2. Brushing. I found using an OT brush on my arms and legs with deep pressure worked really well to calm me down. Also I’ve tried baby chew toys which were useful for de-stressing when I was tense. Google the ‘Wilbarger Therapressure Brush’ thats the one I use.
  3. High Energy Activities. Try to tire yourself out the night before by going for a walk, swim, jog, whatever! Anything that gets your mind of the exam and makes you more sleepy and more likely to drift off quicker.
  4. Don’t talk about your exam afterwards. Don’t talk to your friends about your exam afterwards it will only make you more worried. Think positively to yourself that ‘that exam is in the past’ and focus on the next one.
  5. Weighted Blanket. Also I swear by these too – initially they are quite expensive but I’ve had mine for years and they are super calming.  I literally pop mine on top of my duvet (you can put it in a duvet cover if you prefer) and sleep the whole night with it on. Instant calm restored… See them here: http://www.rompa.com/southpaw-weighted-blanket-standard.html
  6. Take time. Read and Re-read the question and use all the time you are given. I used to get 25% extra time in exams due to my difficulties and I used to sit my exams in a smaller room either on my own or with 3 or 4 other people. Ask your school, uni, etc if this is possible as it really benefitted me. There was less noise and no interruptions.
  7. Eat well. Eat before an exam and take a bottle of water in with you, this will help your blood sugar levels from dipping – when I don’t eat enough I find I’m irritable and can’t concentrate very well.
  8. Dress sensibly. I recommend wearing layers that are easy to take on and off – you don’t want to get too hot or too cold in an exam hall,etc. I always get freezing cold hands and feet so I make sure I wear warmer stuff! Also check before the exam starts you haven’t got a wobbly table – that used to drive me mad…
  9. Just do your best. Thats all anybody can ask of you. Don’t put unnecessary pressure on yourself. And if you have any problems in an exam or feel you can’t cope pop your hand up. All my exam invigilators were super caring and understand if you don’t feel well or can’t cope.
  10. Reward yourself! You just did an exam go treat yourself 🙂

‘Believe in yourself and magic will happen’

2 thoughts on “Exam Overload

  1. You have amazing helpful tips and comments for people struggling with sensory issues. I would encourage you to blog a lot more. I am raising grandchildren with FAS and severe sensory issues, and found your posts really encouraging. Please keep posting for the sake of those who need the information — Barbara

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Barbara I will definitely keep blogging and keep it up regularly. I’m so glad you are finding it helpful that’s exactly why I started blogging about it. Thanks again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

