Managing Birthdays 

I’m officially 21 tomorrow (see my first post in order to understand this!) and another year has gone by and I’ve coped/survived in the sensory world! Im not great with birthdays as I don’t like all the attention to be on me. I also absolutely hate surprises, and yes I know that’s weird but I guess that’s just me. So my birthday always tends to be a tiring and overwhelm me sensory wise.

I used to hate parties as a child and I still do to this day – I tend to avoid them at all costs! I also don’t drink alcohol as I really hate the taste of it so I look like an utter party pooper but really I just can’t cope with the loud noises, bright lights, people touching up against me, weird smells and foods on offer that I can’t eat. This makes me a complete nightmare to take out anywhere but this is how I am and if you feel the same you aren’t the only one.

Do you find social situations, gatherings and parties a nightmare? What coping methods do you use? ( I find escaping to the nearest toilets to calm down and be in my own space works well!) And relax – you are not alone! 😉

2 thoughts on “Managing Birthdays 

  1. I love reading this, it is so nice to get the “inside” view of spud. My 7 year old daughter has spd and I’ve always wondered what it wad like for her, this really does help me understand her more. Thank you for sharing your story

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Tiffany! That’s exactly what my aim is – to give an inside view to what’s it’s like living with SPD. I’m so glad it has helped you to understand it more, thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

