Sleep Cycle Review

unnamed

I use a brilliant app on my iPhone at night called ‘Sleep Cycle’ (available on android too). It monitors your sleep pattern and gently wakes you up in a half an hour time slot – detecting when you are most awake and waking you up gently within that time. What I love about it though is that you can play a number of sound effects/tracks to help you go off to sleep. I use the cabin room/ocean wave sounds to fall asleep too – also makes me less nervous going to sleep as if I hear any noises when falling asleep they startle me and get my heart pounding! So listening to sounds before bed eliminates me worrying about sounds in the dark as the sound effects act as a sort of background noise. I keep it on a low volume next to my pillow. its £1.39 / $1.99 to buy but its well worth it – and you can monitor/see when you fall asleep and when you are most awake during the night. Download it and give it a go!

Read more about the app here: http://www.sleepcycle.com

An excerpt from the website:

Sleep Cycles
While you sleep, you go through a cycle of sleep phases. The first phase is light sleep, followed by deep sleep and a dream state referred to as REM-sleep. A full sleep cycle lasts about 90 minutes and is normally repeated several times each night.

Sleep Cycle alarm clock
Your movements vary with each sleep phase. Sleep Cycle uses the phone’s accelerometer to identify sleep phases by tracking movements in bed. Sleep Cycle then wakes you up during your lightest sleep phase, using a predefined 30-minute alarm window.

new1

Leave a Reply

