Clothing Troubles


(Above a little photo montage I made of Leonard from The Big Bang Theory having troubles with an itchy jumper)  

Only this morning did I have to ask my mum to cut the label out the back of one of my work tops because I couldn’t stand it. I’m very picky when it comes to clothes. I can’t tolerate v necks or low cut tops. I also like to have my arms covered up no matter what the season. I like to wear baggy/non tight fitting tops and skinny jeans. I like tight trousers but not tight tops which is odd. I can’t stand certain fabrics they can effect my mood and make me unhappy and unable to concentrate. It usually takes me a while to get changed for uni in the morning as I can never find a good looking/relatively fashionable outfit that’s comfy at the same time.

I’m not a fan of dresses but can manage to wear skirts and shorts as long as I have tights on underneath. I’m very self conscious about my legs, arms, stomach, I don’t know why but I have always felt happier with them covered up. I’d happily sit indoor in a coat. I love coats actually as its like a layer of protection when you are walking around and if someone bumps into me it doesn’t affect me as much as it would if they bumped into my actual skin.

I also find new clothes and shoes a nightmare. I can’t wear new clothes straight away. I just think that they are too new and pristine and I have a real mental block when it comes to wearing them straight away. I don’t understand how everyone else can put on something they have just bought straight away!? Makes me cringe. So it takes me a few months to get round to wearing new shoes and maybe a month or two to wear new clothes. I like buying clothes from charity shops (obviously washing them in my own washing detergent before wearing them) as they have already been kind of ‘worn into’ and don’t feel new and crisp.

My top tips for clothing troubles:

  1. Take clothing out of the packaging: it used to take me so long to do this, however if you can take your clothing or shoes out of their packaging or box and put them somewhere in your bedroom where you can see them I find it helps to get used to them more quickly.
  2. Wash them a few times: my mum always very kindly washes my clothes a few times if they are new so they smell more familiar to me and they also feel softer.
  3. Cut out all labels: if it annoys you don’t put up with it, cut it out or wear a top underneath which is what I usually do if it’s not too hot!
  4. Wear what makes you happy: like if I used to wear a dress out sometimes my mum would let my wear my converses with it. Try and comprise to wear something that keeps you comfortable and happy.
  5. Changing rooms: I loath, hate and despise shop changing rooms but they are beneficial for helping you see if you like an item of clothing. Yeah I would totally rather order online but if you can face it it’s worth the effort.

Had any clothing nightmares? Also hate labels in the back of your clothes? Share your thoughts and stories in the comments below! 😊

9 thoughts on “Clothing Troubles

  1. Thank you for posting this:

    I used to be more sensitive to clothing textures; I refused to wear jeans before the age of 12 or so and had to cut the tags out of everything. Comfort is still my top priority when buying clothes.

    Things that help me:

    It’s helpful when I double-check the tags before I buy something to make sure that the item of clothing doesn’t have materials that might irritate me.

    Wear things around the house before committing to keeping them. This is particularly helpful with online orders, but I find it helpful with other items (especially shoes) that might feel okay in the store but less so upon wearing more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting! I was just the same never liked labels in my clothes and always opted for comfy clothes. I like the idea of wearing new shoes around the house to break them in a bit and get used to them! 🙂

      Like

  2. Labels printed onto the fabric instead of itchy tags is the BEST thing ever invented! I’ve asked so many friends and family members to cut out tags for me lol The worst is when cutting out a tag leaves a hole!

    When I was a little kid, I insisted that there was a left sock and a right sock. I still turn certain socks inside out. And I cannot wear turtlenecks or any collars that touch my neck! Bras are terrible, too, and I now avoid wearing them 95% of the time, or just wear a soft sports bra.

    Anyway, great post! I’m nominating you for the Starlight Award! Check it out here: https://blissfullyinformedhippiechick.wordpress.com/2015/07/05/starlight-award/?preview=true

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My 9 year old aspie son has 3 pair of shorts he can tolerate. There where days he could even get clothes on to leave the house. He used to be naked inside at all times. It’s something about the waiste. Shirts, socks, or shoes don’t bother him, just the waste. Overalls works for awhile. We finally got one piece pajamas that work. It’s so hard to not be able to help him.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve ordered a couple things online and then I’ve tried on the garment and can’t wait to drag it off me again! There’s a type of webbing that’s inside cotton jumpers that just drives me crazy! I love having tight things covering my arms, which is a pain in Summer not to look like a weirdo lol Labels – why!!!?? Why are they not perforated so you can just pull them off.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a lot of strong preferences about the top vs bottom of my body in clothing, like the top must be loose if bottom is tight and vice versa. I don’t like to wear light colors on the bottom very much but will do if I can balance a bright/dark shirt with bright shoes. An all-pastel or light colored outfit is a NEVER. I always aim to have my clothes divide my body visually into thirds and not two halves. (Long top with short bottom, shorter top with long pants only.) I need to feel visually balanced!

    Pajamas always make me really crazy when I am under the covers in bed. It can’t stand having pants seams twist around my legs, or nightshirts creep up around my waist. But I don’t like sleeping naked either. That’s just an irritation I have to live with. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m exactly the same although I can only wear tight bottoms and loose tops not the other way round otherwise it drives me crazy! It’s interesting how you visually balance your clothing too – I also don’t like to wear light colours and my wardrobe is full of grey and black clothing! There is literally nothing worse than seams twisting round your legs that also drives me crazy too! Thanks for sharing your experiences 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

