Let it grow

I bite my nails. Badly. I’m a naturally nervous person who constantly worries about even the little things in life. That’s my attempt at justifying why I bite my nails 😊 but I also can’t stand the feeling of long nails they irritate me and make my fingers feel heavier and less in control (madness I realise).

I think biting my nails gives me something else to do – they work as a distraction from the sensory world when I can’t think straight. My boyfriend always knows there’s something up when I bite my nails. I’ve decided I’m going to try and let them grow out like a tiny bit. At the moment I have virtually no nails and they are super short which is the way I like them, but I realise that they don’t look very tidy and make me not look my age.

So I’ve been researching how other people have stopped biting their nails and here are my top tips:

  1. Β Keep your mouth and hands busy in any way possible. E.g tapping your hands, using a stress ball, exercising, etc
  2. Study the nails of people who don’t bite their nails for extra motivation.
  3. Take pictures of your nails and examine them. See how bad they really are and how long you have been living with this problem. Is that what you want your nails to look like?
  4. Paint your nails or apply false nails ( I hate painted/ false nails so not sure this would work for everyone!) this will keep you distracted and cover your entire nail.
  5. Try wearing a hair band or bracelet on your wrist to fiddle with when the urge to bite becomes too much. Or ping the hairband against your wrist to remind you not to bite and deter you from it.
  6. Keep reminding yourself why you are doing it – for healthier and better looking nails

I will keep you updated with my progress I’m determined to try really hard not to bite them! πŸ’…πŸ»πŸ’…πŸ»πŸ’…πŸ»

9 thoughts on “Let it grow

  1. Oh my gosh, I have the same exact problem, but the thing is I want to grow my nails out, but when anything bothers me, especially when school is in session, I bite my nails to the numb. ( It hurts so bad sometimes ). But good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww it’s good to know someone else has the same problem as me? I’m exactly the same – anything stressful and I bite them without realising! Haha thank you! ☺️

      Like

  2. Hey there! I used to bite my nails a lot before because I kept worrying about the little things! They were so short that my mom got mad at me. What I did was busy my hands with writing. Write write write. Or hold my pillow close to me, squeezing the life out of it. Now I don’t bite them anymore πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to bite my nails into my ‘sixties, but then my dentist unexpectedly did some cosmetic work on me, much to my surprise, which filled in the gap between my 2 front teeth which is where I used to run my fingernails. So I decided to use that as an opportunity to stop biting my nails, started using purple nail polish and never looked back. Good luck with your efforts to stop!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for looking at my blog! I wish you luck with the nail biting. I don’t do it but my daughter does, she’s bitten ’em to the quicks. Pretty short, in other words. I try to encourage her to do other things like write, draw, paint etc., which she loves to do. Plus, we talk. She does want to quit and is currently trying to put fingernail polish on them. Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

