Overwhelming Shops

I’m finding recently that every shop I walk into, whether it’s a supermarket, high street store or newsagents, is really overwhelming me visually.

Now by this I mean all the products on the racks, shelves, stands, etc are so overwhelmingly bright, garish and colourful that I can’t focus property or concentrate and I become really tired and this really effects my mood.

This is happening more regularly and its a really weird feeling. I can be quite zoned out and a bit transfixed on things because everything is so ‘loud’ visually. It’s almost like I’m picking through a maze of colours trying to focus but I can’t.

Has anyone else experienced this? Shaw win the comments below!

Image from http://www.charleskoll.com/blog

3 thoughts on “Overwhelming Shops

  1. Yes. About a week and a half ago, I went to a local grocery store and went to the aisle that had tea – all in brightly colored boxes. For a moment, it was as if I saw them as almost a whole multi-colored piece and the effect was overwhelming. I was able to focus on singular tea boxes a moment later, but I was definitely ready to get out of the store afterward. That’s only one example, and I’m sure that it’s happened before in one way or another.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so nice to know that someone else has sort of experienced the same thing as me! Exactly the effect becomes so overwhelming but you just feel like you need to leave when it happens!

      Like

Leave a Reply

