Special occasions are hard…


Special occasions are hard. I find Birthdays (even if it’s not mine) parties and Christmas time are generally quite hard to deal with.

  1. Special occasions are always so overwhelming and noisy.
  2. Lots of people lots of kisses and awkward hugs and I never know how to react…
  3. Small talk. Nightmare. Never know what to say and I can’t think because it’s so loud with other people having conversations.
  4. People like to do ‘special things’ like outings on their birthdays. This is hard for me. I just don’t understand this. I hate the attention being on me even though it’s only for a day..it’s so difficult. I’d much rather have a quiet day!
  5. And generally it’s such a tiring time of year…(for me anyway!)

It’s my sisters 18th tomorrow – and of course I’m happy for her and it’s awesome – but it involves spending the day out and about and going to London for the day as well as eating out somewhere new ( I got the day of work too). This is something I don’t want to complain about as it ruins my families day but different changes in environments, especially busy ones, are so overwhelming. 😱

Anyone else find this time of year overwhelming sensory-wise? Got any good coping methods? Why not share them in the comments below 😉

5 thoughts on “Special occasions are hard…

  1. I know the feeling about the kisses. I went to a family gathering and one of the people who came up to greet me said “I know you don’t like cheek kisses” and I was like “YES!” right up until she said “But i’m going to do it anyway”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never knew, all of these years, why I was losing it at the holidays. I like the lights and music in my head, but in reality it’s super hard for me. I am learning I need to keep dark sunglasses and ear plugs–or earbuds with soothing music or white noise on my phone–on my person at all times. I also learned wearing hats and scarves helps. Oven a thick, snug headband I can pull down over my ears helps so much. Still learning.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What I hate most is weddings. I’ve had four this year and I just don’t like them! They’re loud, busy, smelly, crowded and it just reminds me that while my friends are off getting married and having kids I’m still in my 20s broke as a joke despite having a full time job and needing my boyfriend to brush me and apply deep pressure before he drops me off at my house.

    For me I always take my boyfriend with me to any social event. He’s my ‘handler’, my human fidget, my deep pressure therapist… he’s just absolutely everything I could ever ask for.
    I also have an arsenal. A few fidgets (silly putty, a velvety statuette, etc), headphones, my Wilbarger brush, gum (because biting my boyfriend is not socially acceptable even if it is input that I require), Orbeez…
    I whip these bad boys out any time I need them usually escaping to an uncrowded area to regulate myself and get the deep pressure therapy I crave from my guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your comment and I TOTALLY agree! OMG I can’t believe you’ve been to four weddings in one year – even one a year is too overwhelming for me…don’t worry because you aren’t alone. I need to brush and have deep pressure too to feel okay and it is SO awesome that you have found such an understanding boyfriend. He sounds brilliant and you are so lucky – the biting your boyfriend bit did make me laugh! I know what you mean – I find teething toys are great for chewing though! Thanks for getting in touch 🙂

      Like

  4. What I hate most is weddings. I’ve had four this year and I just don’t like them! They’re loud, busy, smelly, crowded and it just reminds me that while my friends are off getting married and having kids I’m still in my 20s broke as a joke despite having a full time job and needing my boyfriend to brush me and apply deep pressure before he drops me off at my house.

    For me I always take my boyfriend with me to any social event. He’s my ‘handler’, my human fidget, my deep pressure therapist… he’s just absolutely everything I could ever ask for.
    I also have an arsenal. A few fidgets (silly putty, a velvety statuette, etc), headphones, my Wilbarger brush, gum (because biting my boyfriend is not socially acceptable even if it is input that I require), Orbeez…
    I whip these bad boys out any time I need them usually escaping to an uncrowded area to regulate myself and get the deep pressure therapy I crave from my guy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

