One of My Little Quirks: I Hate Surprises

OMG I HATE SURPRISES TOO. Nobody seems to understand why but anything surprise (how little or big) sends me into a sensory meltdown or cause overwhelming emotions!

Maybe Autism Explains It All

Photo by Stefano Mortellaro via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.Photo by Stefano Mortellaro via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons.

It was hard to find a relevant picture for this post that didn’t creep me out. Pictures of surprise parties? No thank you. So please enjoy the above photo of a surprised-looking cat. Thank you for understanding.

I hate surprise parties. I hate surprises of almost every kind. Please, please don’t surprise me. I will probably not react the way you’re hoping I will, and it will ruin everyone’s fun.

My mom loves surprising people, but she has learned not to try it with me, because it’s the reaction she loves, and I do not provide an acceptable one. If I enter a room and the lights go on and people yell surprise, I will probably jump back (possibly injuring myself in the process), then stand there like a deer caught in the headlights, and then vomit. Not exactly a…

View original post 464 more words

Leave a Reply

