Why change? πŸ‘€

8e52bbe67207290df4c985bee973b046

Okay. So below on the left is my favourite shampoo. In the world. I find it super hard to get used to smells especially ones that linger in my hair so I prefer to stick with either a strawberry smell or a shampoo like head & shoulders which is more of a neutral smell.

What I don’t understand is why companies feel the need to change their products ‘formula’ regularly. It’s annoying. So when my mum couldn’t understand why our supermarket no longer stocked the shampoo on the left (below) we were both confused. I googled and found out that the shampoo had been repackaged and a new formula bought in…(right below)

WHY CHANGE?

Im better than I was with change but it’s getting used to products again which I find so difficult. This happened not that long ago with Always night pads/liners (which I prefer to use on my time of the month – I hate talking about this but feel it relates). I always liked the design of the pad and although it took some getting used to for the first time aged 16 I used them ever since. About a year or two ago the Always brand decided to scrap their current range and release a new line of pads for day, night, etc.

THEY WERE ALL SCENTED.

I quite literally freaked. Never had I experienced such a powerful overwhelming perfumey girly smell. And I could no longer buy unscented pads which to me was upsetting. Yes, I grew to live with the scent (unhappily) but what annoys me is that the people at companies like Always and Alberto Balsam don’t understand that when they change their formula or scent it really can affect people who rely on and use their products everyday.

Do you or someone you know get overwhelmed when products or formulas change? How do you cope with it? Share your stories, thoughts and ideas in the comments below ☺️

13 thoughts on “Why change? πŸ‘€

  1. I can relate to this so much! Out of all my sensory issues, it’s my sensitive sense of smell that makes life the hardest for me on a daily basis. Plus I have very sensitive skin. And it seems like just when I find a product I can tolerate and that I really like, they either change it or discontinue it completely. Then I have to try to find an acceptable alternative, and I’m not rich enough or tough enough to be okay with trying a bunch of different things until I find one that works for me. It just ends up meaning wasted products and repeated skin irritations until I do. Labels like “hypoallergenic” and “for sensitive skin” don’t help. Quite often such products contain aloe, and even though that’s marketed like it’s some kind of miracle, skin-soothing substance, I react to it.

    Also, I can’t use scented pads at all (I can’t use tampons either because they hurt). Not only is the scent horrible (I don’t even have to see the word “scented,” I can smell the scent as soon as I pick up the unopened package in the store, that’s how sensitive I am to it), but I get a rash from them too. There were some great pads I used to use that were unscented, unbleached, etc., but I could only ever find them at one store and then I moved to a different city and haven’t been able to find them here. Of course, they were more expensive than ordinary pads. But the ones I use now, oddly enough, are from Walmart. I think it’s their Equate brand. (I quite often can’t remember brand names so I go by what the package looks like, which is a problem when they change the look of the packaging.) So far so good with them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Thanks so much for your comment πŸ™‚ Its so annoying isn’t it?!?! As soon as I’m all used to a product they change it and I’m back to square one again. Im exactly the same neither rich enough or emotional tough enough to try others! Im sorry to hear about your reactions to some products – I also find some sensitive skin products make me come up in a rash, so I’m with you on thinking that they aren that good for our skin! I literally couldn’t stand scented pads but I couldn’t find any alternative or if i did it was ridiculously expensive (i’ll let you into a secret too – i can’t wear tampons either as they hurt me too) OMG same like you can smell the scent because its so strong even though its inside the packet still – why do they have to change things?! Ahh Walmart I see. I haven’t checked my local Poundland (which is like the UK version of Walmart I think) so I might try there….well done though for sourcing the products that work for you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, you’re in the UK? Try Asda. My husband, who’s from the UK, has always said that’s the equivalent over there and is owned by the same company. It’s funny, he often absentmindedly says, “We need to go to Asda,” when he means Walmart.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t get it either. I thought I was the only one who wanted to read “old and boring” rather than new and improved. Even if the product is the same, changing the container just confuses/upsets customers that have been buying for years. I find shopping frustrating enough as it is without them changing everything all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m glad someone else is with me on this. Nope you aren’t alone I’m definitely with you on that one! Its so annoying and unnecessary to keep changing and rebranding/repackaging products. SAME. Shopping is already a nightmare let alone when they change things!

      Like

  3. Haha, this is a funny story. If I were you I’d buy like 10 bottles every time lol.

    I dont have much problem with change when it comes to the stuff I use on my body. I’m the type of person who uses a different product after the other. What I dont like is change in routine, it tips me off and I feel incomplete when I dont get the order of things right. For example, when I wake up I want to brush my teeth, wash my face and then have breakfast but sometimes my roommates are in the shower first so I have to eat breakfast before going ti the shower and it just feels wrong! I just deal with it, flexibility is a good trait to have anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks – i wish i could but it would probably be expensive…! Ah okay its interesting to hear that – although I’m with you on hating change in routines. I can understand how frustrating it is when a routine changes or things aren’t done in the right order. Its amazing you can cope/deal with it and be so flexible like that – I would love to be like that πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First, I would just like to say that i’m very happy you started this blog..I now know im not alone! I myself am opposite of you, I can never have enough scented lotions and perfumes and have to many laying around. I find myself very overwhelmed with different textures though and HATE when lotions are slimier and thicker and will have to wash it off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much! It is interesting that you are the opposite in the sense that you like scented lotions – but you are exactly the same as me in that textures and slimey things overwhelm you! I hate so many textures they make me jump when they touch my skin πŸ˜‚

      Like

  5. I hear you on this. On a broader scale, brain injury, neurological disorders, and SPD create problems with both cognition (memory & concentration) and sensory processing. They are very interrelated in that one can set off the other and leave you with considerable challenges when shopping and out and about. Two years ago, I took photos of the toothpaste section at a Target store, where Colgate toothpaste alone featured over 50 different makes of its toothpaste. This is “over the top marketing,” and within these marketing strategies, manufacturers will often change the packaging, product names, and ingredients. I own the domain http://www.CognitiveAccessibility.org where I plan to provide information and advocacy in these challenges. For now, that domain points to the topic page on my main web site. I’ve got a lot of information and links on there already, but have a lot of new info I am yet to add. This is an issue that affects 10-20 percent of the population, including, seniors.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It makes me pretty anxious when I go to look for my shampoo. I always stick with the same 3 kind. My store has this fun habit of changing around their shampoo isle all the time! So I feel so anxious trying to look my shampoo and conditioner because they have moved it for the millionth time. It sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

