Sensory & Alcohol

Bottles

This blog post has been in the pipeline for a while for a number of different reasons…

  1. It’s something I’ve always wanted to cover in more detail on my blog.
  2. It’s something that seems to be affecting me since I was 18.
  3. It’s something that continues to frustrate me.

Alcohol.

I don’t understand why I (or anyone else) should ‘have’ to drink to fit in.

I don’t understand why if I don’t drink I’m seen as being a ‘party pooper’ or ‘no fun’.

I don’t like the taste of alcohol. I could quite easily live in a world without it. But since having a boyfriend I feel I have had to introduce myself to alcohol so that I can fit in more and act my age. I am able to drink Malibu and Coke, Pimms and Archers with Lemonade.

I find it hard enough to cope in a busy, noisy, party-like environment as it is – I don’t need alcohol to mess with my thinking and senses further. I am aware drinking can somewhat ‘dull’ a persons senses but I really don’t think dulling my senses is a good idea… and even if it was, the feeling wouldn’t last forever and I’d be back to square one.

I like soft drinks. I am happy with them. I know what they taste like. I know what to expect. I know they aren’t too strong or weird tasting. They actually provide comfort especially when given to me in an unusual and unfamiliar environment.

Friends and family members continue to offer me alcohol because I am 22 and ‘it’s the done thing’. They know I’m not mad on alcohol but still offer me wine,etc. I appreciate when people buy me alcohol such as Malibu and coke because they know I like it. I also appreciate that people forget I don’t like alcohol when they ask me what I’m drinking or other questions.

Do you drink alcohol or not? How do you feel about the subject? Feel free to discuss in the comments below…

2 thoughts on “Sensory & Alcohol

  1. Hello!

    For many people, being an adult means you have to do certain things, and usually drinking is one of them, so whenever I say I don’t drink, people always try to make me drink, even if it is just a little. It is hard to get them to understand I don’t want to drink. Coping with parties is hard enough when I’m sober, with all the crowd and the noises and stuff… I imagine if I tried to cope with it while drunk, it’d be way worse.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I know right – I wish I didn’t feel the pressure from people to drink 😱 exactly!!! Being sober at a party is so hard like you say with the noise and so many people…it’s nice to know someone else feels the same – thank you for commenting ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

